Undergraduate Prizes and Awards 2021-2022

Congratulations to this year’s prize and award recipients!

Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize

From the estate of Thomas T. Hoopes, Class of 1919, Harvard received a fund from which to grant annual awards to undergraduates on the basis of outstanding scholarly work or research.

Recipients of the prize with a concentration in mathematics are:

Louis Golowich for his project “Random Walks on Expander Graphs”—supervised and nominated by Professor Salil Vadhan.

Jimmy Lin for his project “Labor Supply during the COVID Pandemic: The Who, What, Where, and Why of the Great Resignation”—supervised and nominated by Professor Edward Glaeser.

Alison Kim for her project “Ice Age Effects on the Satellite-Derived J2-dot Datum: Mapping the Sensitivity to 3D Variations in Mantle Viscosity”—supervised and nominated by Professor Jerry Mitrovica.

Siva Muthupalaniappan for his project “Inferring Evolutionary Relationships: An Overview of Homology Search and a Novel Neural Network-Based Approach”—supervised and nominated by Professor Sean Eddy and Dr. John Wesley Cain.

Recipients of the prize with a secondary concentration in mathematics are:

Rose Hong for her project “Algorithms for Managing Deliberation”—supervised and nominated by Professor Ariel Procaccia.

Joshua Moriarty for his project “Kantian Theology and Its Jewish Reception: Moral Transformation in the Works of Immanuel Kant and Hermann Cohen”—supervised and nominated by Professor Eric Nelson.

Yash Nair for his project “Randomization Tests for Adaptively Collected Data”—supervised and nominated by Professor Lucas Janson.

Noah Singer for his project “On Streaming Approximation Algorithms for Constraint Satisfaction Problems”—supervised and nominated by Professor Madhu Sudan.

David B. Mumford Undergraduate Mathematics Prize

From the income of the gift in 1997 of Peter L. Falb, A.B. 1957, A.M. 1957, Ph.D. 1961 to establish the David B. Mumford Undergraduate Mathematics Prize, to be given annually to the most promising senior concentrator in mathematics, provided such concentrator is outstanding.

The prize goes to Anne Larsen.

Robert Fletcher Rogers Prize

From the income of the gift in 1921 of the late Robert Fletcher Rogers, A.B. 1886, there have been established a first prize and second prize to be awarded annually to the College students who present the best talks before the Mathematics Table during an academic year. In making the awards, emphasis is laid primarily on the excellence of the oral presentation. It is not essential that the material presented is original, but mastery of the subject and adaptation of the presentation is regarded as important. The prizes are awarded by the Department of Mathematics on the recommendation of the Mathematics Table.

First place goes to Rebecca Saul.

Second place goes to Forrest Flesher.

Friends Prize

The prize is shared by Raluca Vlad and Tristan Yang.

Alexander Prize

Each year, this award recognizes a deserving student who will use the money for research and travel to math conferences.

The prize is shared by Louis Golowich and Edward Pyne.