MATH
21 B
Mathematics Math21b Fall 2010
Linear Algebra and Differential Equations
Homework
Course Head: Oliver Knill
Office: SciCtr 434
  • Homework is always due the next class. Exceptions can happen around midterms.
  • The Tue/Thu section has the same homework but splitted at a different place.
  • Homework is due at the beginning of class. We have a strict no late HW policy but you can use 3 jokers throughout the semester (as in 21a last semester).
  • Collaborations are welcome however you must turn in your own copy and list on it the names of your collaborators.
  • Use words to explain your work, if necessary. Show your work.
  • A star * after a problem indicates that the problem is recommended only. You don't turn it in, nor will it be graded. True/False problems are also optional. You do not turn it in. If two problems are bracketet [14,24], it means that both together count as one problem.
  • Homework is graded on a 10 points scale. There are 5 problems per day, 50 points maximal per day and 150 points maximal a week.
Homework rule: We have a strict no late homework policy. Homework is due in class. In case of illness (bring documentation from the Harvard University health service) we will average with less HW sets in this case. In case of nondocumented illness, or forgotten homework, a jokers is invoked. Please do not ask for homework extension.
Week Lecture Number Assignment
Week 1 lecture 1 1.1: 6,20,42,46,48,24*,36* Due Friday Sept 10 solutions
Week 1 lecture 2 1.2: 6,14,18,22,42,32*,20* Due Monday Sept 13 solutions
Week 2 lecture 3 1.3: [10,12],28,36,38,56,26*,46* Due Wednesday Sept 15 solutions
Week 2 lecture 4 2.1: 4,[20,22],24-30,38,52,34*,44* Due Friday Sept 17 solutions
Week 2 lecture 5 2.2: 2,28,30,34,44,47*,36* Due Monday Sept 20 solutions
Week 3 lecture 6 2.3: 14,32,[40,42],[46,48],66,44*,68* Due Wednesday Sept 22 solutions
Week 3 lecture 7 2.4: 14,[67-71],32,44,92,28*,72* Due Friday Sept 24 solutions
Week 3 lecture 8 3.1: [12,22],34,42,44,54,38*,48* Due Monday Sept 27 solutions
Week 4 lecture 9 3.2: 20,[28,32],46,48,54,36*,38* Due Wednesday Sept 29 solutions
Week 4 lecture 10 3.3: 18,26,32,36,72,38*,84* Due Friday Oct 1 solutions
Week 4 lecture 11 3.4: 12,18,42,56,64,32*,26* Due Mon Oct 4 solutions
Week 5 lecture 12 4.1: 6-8,9-11,36,48,52,12*-15* Due Wed Oct 6 solutions
Week 5 lecture 13 review, no homework for Friday
Week 5 lecture 14 5.1: 8,16,20,28,46,38*,10* Due Wed Oct 13 solutions
Week 6 lecture 15 5.2: 8,12,20,38,40,44*45* Due Fri Oct 15 solutions
Week 6 lecture 16 5.3: 5-8,9-11,13-16,17-20,48,44*,46* Due Mon Oct 18 solutions
Week 7 lecture 17 5.4: 6,16,26,30,40,20*,18* Due Wed Oct 20 solutions
Week 7 lecture 18 6.1: 38,42,48,54,56,45*,60* Due Fri Oct 22 solutions
Week 7 lecture 19 6.2: 6,8,50,66,40*,44* and 6.3: 12 Due Mon Oct 25 solutions
Week 8 lecture 20 7.1: 14,36 and 7.2: 12,28,40,25*,26* Due Wed Oct 27 solutions
Week 8 lecture 21 7.3: 10,18,26,28,44,32*,36* Due Fri Oct 29 solutions
Week 8 lecture 22 7.4: 16,30,36,56,60,58*,54* Due Mon Nov 1 solutions
Week 9 lecture 24 7.5: 2(but for z7),14,26,32,38,50*,36* Due Wed Nov 3 solutions
Week 9 lecture 25 review, no homework for Friday
Week 9 lecture 25 7.6: 12,16,24,34,42, 38*,40* Due Mon Nov 8 solutions
Week 10 lecture 26 8.1: 6,10,24,28,42,36*,26* Due Wed, Nov 10 solutions
Week 10 lecture 27 9.1: 30,34,40,42,54,24*,46* Due Fri, Nov 12 solutions
Week 10 lecture 28 9.2: 12,18,22-26,34,40,36* Due Mon, Nov 15 solutions
Week 11 lecture 29 9.4: 1,2,3,4,5 in handout Due Wed, Nov 17 solutions
Week 11 lecture 30 1,2,3,4,5 in handout Due Fri, Nov 19 solutions
Week 11 lecture 31 9.3: 4 (use operator method),18,28,34,40,36*,20* Due Mon, Nov 22 solutions
Week 12 lecture 32 9.3: 6,16,29,43,44 (yes 29,43 are odd),20* Due Wed, Nov 24 solutions
Week 12 lecture 33 5.5: 10,11,16,24,32,20* (yes, 11 is odd) Due Mon, Nov 29 solutions
Week 12 no lecture Thanksgiving
Week 13 lecture 34 Handout: problems 1-5 Solutions
Week 13 lecture 35 Handout: problems 6-10 Solutions
Please send questions and comments to math21b@fas.harvard.edu
Math21b (Exam Group 1)| Oliver Knill | Fall 2010 | Department of Mathematics | Faculty of Art and Sciences | Harvard University